Trenton Harassment Lawyers
Harassment charges include a wide range of offenses in New Jersey. These charges are often considered a disorderly person’s offense which is not considered a crime though will still be placed on your criminal record. Harassment, however, can also be charged as a fourth-degree indictable offense which is more serious. Being convicted of a harassment charge can lead to severe penalties. It is important, therefore, to take harassment and other criminal charges seriously to avoid lifelong consequences.
Connect with Davé Law Firm online or by calling (609) 554-7511 to book your appointment with one of our skilled criminal defense lawyers today.
What Is Harassment in New Jersey?
As Trenton harassment lawyers, the legal team at Davé Law Firm will advocate for your rights and best interests with prosecutors and in court. Our skilled legal team shares approximately 80,000 combined cases in representing clients in both criminal and civil courts. Set up your free initial consultation so that we can fight for you from beginning to end.
Many actions and behaviors are considered to be harassment under New Jersey law.
These can include the following:
- Anonymously communicating at extremely inconvenient hours, especially with offensive language or other annoying or harmful qualities
- Shoving, kicking, striking, or otherwise touching the victim in an offensive way
- Threatening to shove, kick, strike, or otherwise touch someone
- Engaging in alarming conduct
- Repeatedly attempting to alarm or annoy someone
- Making physical contact or repeated threatening phone calls
- Threatening someone or communicating in a harmful or annoying way over text messages
Because of the often ambiguous nature of these offenses, having a skilled criminal defense attorney to tackle your harassment charges is an effective way to get them dismissed or the penalties lessened.
Penalties for Harassment
If you are convicted of a harassment charge, the offense is considered a disorderly person’s offense. The penalties include a 30-day jail sentence and a monetary fine up to $500. However, if you are on probation or parole at the time of the harassment offense in New Jersey, the charges can be upped to a fourth-degree felony charge punishable by up to 18 months in prison.
How Our Trenton Harassment Defense Lawyers Can Help
Clearly, harassment charges are sweeping and can be effectively argued due to their ambiguous nature. Many harassment cases do not have merit under the law but are brought forth because of an alleged victim’s complaint. In these cases, one of our knowledgeable criminal defense attorneys can analyze the facts and present an argument in court that may lead to the downgrading or dismissal of the charges.
Contact our dedicated team to secure an experienced advocate who will work with you every step of the way in pursuing a desirable outcome to avoid the potentially serious consequences of a harassment charge.
Call us for a free initial consultation to see if we are the right fit for you. We take cases throughout Mercer County, NJ and want to help you minimize the consequences that can accompany a harassment charge.
What Sets Us Apart?
Full-Service Law Firm
Whether you were injured, unjustly charged, or in the middle of a legal family matter, our team of attorneys has the skills and resources to protect your rights and defend your future.
Small-Firm Dedication & Focus, Large-Firm Results
When you work with our firm, you get the one-on-one treatment expected at a small firm, with the results expected from a larger firm. You work directly with your dedicated attorney from start to finish.
Knowledgeable & Experienced Counsel
With over 80,000 combined cases handled, our accomplished attorneys have the skill, knowledge, and dedication to fight for you and your rights.
Innovative Legal Strategies
Our mission is to provide our clients with a network of innovative legal solutions tailored to their unique case, excellent legal representation, and a dedication to quality customer service.